Graduate Program Committees

Steering Committee

  • Trey Ideker (School of Medicine), Program Director
  • Terry Gaasterland (Marine Biology), Associate Director
  • Gene Yeo (Cellular and Molecular Medicine), Associate Director
  • Ruben Abagyan (Pharmacy)
  • Vineet Bafna (Computer Science and Engineering)
  • Steve Briggs (Biology)
  • Hannah Carter (Division of Medical Sciences), Admissions Chair
  • Joseph Ecker (Biological Sciences)
  • Olivier Harismendy (Biomedical Informatics)
  • Lucila Ohno-Machado (Biomedical Informatics)
  • Pavel Pevzner (Computer Science and Engineering)
  • Bing Ren (Cellular and Molecular Medicine)
  • Shankar Subramaniam (Bioengineering)
  • Glenn Tesler (Mathematics)
  • Ammal Abbasi (BISB Graduate Student)
  • Owen Chapman (BMI Graduate Student)
  • Anh Pham (BMI Graduate Student)

Curriculum Committee

Review core and elective class offerings.
Plan incoming student bootcamp.
Advise director on student petitions.

  • Glenn Tesler (Mathematics), Committee Chair
  • Vineet Bafna (Computer Science and Engineering)
  • Julie Law (Salk Institute)
  • Wei Wang (Chemistry and Biochemistry)
  • Sheng Zhong (Bioengineering)

Outreach and Student Affairs Committee

Keeping course catalog and website up to date.
Keeping records of student publications and other records relevant to Training grant.
Rotation reports, including faculty research projects.
Alumni tracking.
Develop extra-mural links of the Program.

  • Glenn Tesler (Mathematics), Committee Chair
  • Niema Moshiri (Computer Science and Engineering)
  • Vineet Bafna (Computer Science and Engineering)
  • Lucila Ohno-Machado (Biomedical Informatics)
  • Shankar Subramaniam (Bioengineering)
  • Terry Gaasterland (Marine Biology)

Colloquium Committee

Select speakers for the Genetics, Bioinformatics, and Systems Biology Colloquium.
This is jointly organized by BISB and the Genetics Training Program.


  • Joseph Gleeson (Neurosciences, School of Medicine), Faculty Chair
  • Lina Zheng (BISB Graduate Student), Student Chair
  • Hratch Matthew Baghdassarian (BISB Graduate Student)
  • Andrey Bzikadze (BISB Graduate Student)
  • Bojing Jia (BISB Graduate Student)
  • Jonathan Pekar (BISB Graduate Student)
  • Xingzhao Wen (BISB Graduate Student)
  • Cynthia Wu (BISB Graduate Student)
  • Amit Majithia (School of Medicine), BNFO 281 Instructor
  • Terry Gaasterland (Marine Biology), Zoom Coordinator
  • Savannah Orosco (BISB Program Coordinator)

Genetics Training Program

  • Joseph Gleeson (Neurosciences, School of Medicine), Faculty Chair
  • Stephania Hadimulia (Institute for Genomic Medicine Staff)
  • Done in conjunction with additional members of the Genetics Training Program

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

Enhance diversity within the Program and beyond in the field.

  • Vineet Bafna (Computer Science and Engineering), Faculty Diversity Officer / Committee Chair
  • Kit Curtius (Biomedical Informatics)
  • Terry Gaasterland (Marine Biology)
  • Olivier Harismendy (Biomedical Informatics)
  • Niema Moshiri (Computer Science and Engineering)
  • Gene Yeo (Cellular and Molecular Medicine)
  • Savannah Orosco, Program Coordinator
  • Maria Luisa Amaral (Graduate Student)
  • Erick Armingol (Graduate Student)
  • Mike Cuoco (Graduate Student)
  • Pratibha Jagannatha (Graduate Student)
  • Joe Solvason (Graduate Student)

Fellowship Committee

Nominate students for fellowships.
Find and publicize fellowships of interest to students in the program.
Hold seminars to help students apply for fellowships.

  • Nathan Lewis (Pediatrics), Committee Chair
  • Terry Gaasterland (Marine Biology)
  • Prashant Mali (Bioengineering)
  • Siavash Mirarab (Electrical and Computer Engineering)

Graduate Bioinformatics Council (2020-21)

Graduate student leadership committee.
Organizes BEx, monthly social hours, and other events.

  • Owen Chapman, President
  • Emily Kobayashi, Director of Community Events
  • Clarence Mah, Director of Onboarding
  • Daniela Nachmanson, Director of Student Wellness

Student Representatives

  • Ammal Abbasi
  • Owen Chapman
  • Anh Pham

GSA Representatives

  • Adam Officer
  • Michelle Franc Ragsac

Outreach Committee

  • Nathaniel Delos Santos
  • Jennifer Havens
  • Pratibha Jagannatha
  • Anh Pham
  • Joe Solvason
  • Jessica Zhou

Admissions Committee

Fall 2021 application cycle.

  • Hannah Carter (Division of Medical Genetics), Committee Chair
  • Glenn Tesler (Mathematics), Committee Co-chair
  • Ludmil Alexandrov (Cellular and Molecular Medicine)
  • Vikas Bansal (Pediatrics)
  • Christopher Benner (School of Medicine)
  • Lukas Chavez (School of Medicine)
  • Chi-Hua Chen (Radiology)
  • Kit Curtius (School of Medicine)
  • Terry Gaasterland (Marine Biology)
  • Rodney Gabriel (School of Medicine)
  • Kyle Gaulton (Pediatrics)
  • Alon Goren (School of Medicine)
  • Melissa Gymrek (Computer Science and Engineering)
  • Olivier Harismendy (Biomedical Informatics)
  • Sven Heinz (School of Medicine)
  • Mohit Jain (School of Medicine)
  • Jejo Koola (School of Medicine)
  • Tsung-Ting Kuo (Biomedical Informatics)
  • Louise Laurent (Reproductive Medicine)
  • Nathan Lewis (Pediatrics)
  • Amit Majithia (School of Medicine)
  • Graham McVicker (Salk Institute for Biological Sciences)
  • Jill Mesirov (School of Medicine)
  • Niema Moshiri (Computer Science)
  • Shamim Nemati (Biomedical Informatics)
  • Lucila Ohno-Machado (Biomedical Informatics)
  • Debashis Sahoo (Pediatrics)
  • Jonathan Sebat (School of Medicine)
  • Wei Wang (Chemistry and Biochemstry)
  • Joel Wertheim (School of Medicine)
  • Elizabeth Winzeler (Pediatrics)